The Pharmacology Discipline of the Institute of Biomedical Sciences of Universidade de São Paulo was organized in 1970 upon the establishment of the University Reform, assembling teaching staff of the Faculties of Dentistry, Pharmacy and Biochemistry and part of the teaching staff of the Department of Pharmacology of the Faculty of Medicine, and together with the Physiology Discipline, constitutes the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology.




The Department of Cell and Developmental Biology (former Department of Histology and Embryology) has a long history in academic and research activities. We teach Cell and Tissue Biology, General Histology and Embryology for students of 15 biomedical undergraduate courses at the University of São Paulo.  We also provide scientific training for those who wish to enter these fields of expertise through undergraduate research training programs, graduate program and postdoctoral fellowships.


Furthermore, this department contributes to the latest discoveries in the above fields through publication of scientific manuscripts and popularizes Science through outreach programs  and textbooks.


The department aims to strengthen and internationalize its research groups and continuously perfect its quality of Undergraduate Teaching and Graduate Training.




The Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, São Paulo University, has 27 faculty members, 18 post-doctoral fellows, and 30 staff members. Research is carried out in 24 laboratories working on integrative, cell and molecular physiology and biophysics. All laboratories have financial support from the main Brazilian funding agencies: FAPESP, CNPq, FINEP, PRONEX/MCT, and other institutions as well. In addition to research activities, the department is responsible for teaching more than 1,500 undergraduate and 100 graduate students. The department is also involved in community-oriented programs. The departamental aims are to generate and inform novel knowledge in Physiology and physiopathologies relevant to human and animal health.




The Department of Microbiology of the Institute of Biomedical Sciences of Universidade de São Paulo is installed in an area of over 6000 m2, located in Cidade Universitária, in the city of São Paulo. The Department has excellent research laboratories and teaching facilities and it has been developing research and producing specialists in different areas of microbiology since 1970.


It was set up after the university reform, resulting from the merger of core departments already existing at USP; however, it was only physically installed in Biomedical Building II in 1985. With activities in the areas of education, research, culture and extension, including community services, it currently has 30 teaching staff 5 visiting professors, 25 post-doctoral fellows, 3 administrative employees, 5 advanced technicians, 11 mid-level technicians and 12 basic level technicians.


Thanks to the research and studies carried out in all its laboratories, with projects approved and financed by different research promotion agencies such as FAPESP, Finep, CNPq, CAPES and others, it has achieved a prominent position in recent years due to the significant increase of scientific publications in prestigious journals and magazines. Besides the research activities, the Department is committed to the education and training of highly qualified professionals. It is responsible for teaching 1500 undergraduate and 150 graduate students each year.





The Department of Parasitology resulted from the merger, in the 70s, of the corresponding departments of the Faculties of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Veterinary Science. It currently has 5 full professors, 2 associate professors, 11 assistant professors, 1 teaching assistant and 11 advanced technicians.


Its main lines of research include malaria, leishmaniases, human, animal and plant tripanosomiases, helminthiases of veterinary interest and arthropods vectors of disease. In the studies of these parasitoses, the department is qualified to use all the modern morphological, genetic, biochemical and cell and molecular biology techniques.


The department teaches Parasitology to Medical, Dental, Veterinarian, Nursing, Nutrition and Pharmacy undergraduate courses. Moreover, it has been responsible for the graduate course in Host-Pathogen Relationship Biology graded A in the evaluation of CAPES (Office for the Improvement of Higher Learning) for 15 years now.




The Immunology Department was established in 1982 and is currently housed in Biomedical Sciences Building IV. Its research focuses on the mechanisms of basic immunological response in a variety of experimental models and human diseases. All of its 18 research laboratories are solidly funded and established. The Department supports these research groups by offering shared facilities such as Isogenic Animal Facility, Histology Laboratory and Animal Experimentation Laboratory.


The Department is also very active in undergraduate and graduate teaching. Its Graduate Program was established in 1983 and has 40 affiliated advisors and has since graduated 123 master´s students and 107 doctoral students.  It is responsible for the Immunology courses for the School of Veterinary Medicine, Medical School, Dental School, Biology, Nutrition, Nursing, Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy.


Furthemore, it participates in community outreach programs such as The Latinamerican Primary Immunodeficiency Registry.



The Anatomy Department at the Biomedical Sciences Institute was established in 1969, with the merge between the anatomy dapartments of the Dental and Medical Schools. Its Graduate School has graduated 270 students since then. Currently, the department's faculty body is composed of researchers from a variety of biomedical fields, including Biology, Medical Sciences and Dentistry.


The Department is highly involved in academic and reserach activities. Its newly renovated teaching is sufficient to house 600 students at a time.

The Department research interests can be broadly subdivided into Cardiovascular Research, Myocyte Biology, Neurosciences, Bone Biology and Endocrinology. All these research groups are encouraged to collaborate intradepartamentally, with other departements and internationally.